It’s not all about me!

God's will in church growth

His Kingdom come. His will be done.

I was recently reminded while reading one of  Mark Batterson’s blogs of some fabulous and sometime painful truths.  I know that we as pastors (myself included) sometimes have an idea and try to drive it home in our own timing and not allow for God’s timing (or His completely different plan). The phrase “it’s not all about me” comes to mind.

I am also reminded that we are all in this together. There should be no competition between churches.  We should be ecstatic when another church grows even if the church is just down the street from ours, and not be jealous or resentful. We should learn to join forces to reach our communities for Christ. Does it really matter whose church a new believer attends as long as they attend one?  With that said here is the post from Mark Batterson.

The Stretcher

I tweeted this earlier this week: there is a fine line between “my kingdom come” and “Thy kingdom come.”

Can I be blunt? I think it’s easier for some pastors to pray for a church that is four states away than a church that is four blocks away.

I feel like I’m living in the tension between two verses this week. They are stretching me like one of those medieval torture devices that dislocated the limbs. I think they were actually called The Stretcher. Sorry for the visual image but that is what is happening in my spirit. Two verses are pulling in opposite directions.

How do we “increase” as in I Cor 3:6 and “decrease” as in John 3:30?

I desperately want God to increase NCC as we plant and water, but I also know that I need to decrease like John the Baptist. Bottom line? I want to stay out of the way of what God is doing at NCC. It’s just hard to do both of those things at the same time! Thus the tension. I want us to grow but it cannot be about the numbers.

Word to pastors: it better not be about you. In fact, I think we need to find ways to intentionally decrease. How? For starters, we better not take any credit for what God is doing. God will not be robbed of His glory! Unless the Lord builds the house, we labor in vain! I think one of the greatest dangers that growing churches face is this prideful temptation: “look at us.” Why? Because we’ve been saying “look at me” since we were two years old. That is our default setting. But when we follow Christ there is a paradigm shift: look at Him.

May His Kingdom come. May His will be done.

Until next time,

Chris Sonksen

QUOTE OF THE DAY

I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. -1 Corinthians 3:6(NIV)

He must become greater; I must become less. – John 3:30(NIV)

About Chris Sonksen

Chris Sonksen is the founder and Lead Pastor of South Hills Church and has an exceptional ability to inspire both secular and non-secular audiences. Under his leadership, South Hills has experienced phenomenal growth and in just a few short years has grown from a handful of people to nearly 3000 in attendance today. Today South Hills has become a thriving, multi-service and multi-site church. Chris has a magnetic, captivating and humorous style for motivating and inspiring all audiences. As a motivational speaker, he has spoken both nationally and internationally in companies such as Verizon, Securitas and Home Depot, and there is no doubt that by applying his teachings, his audience will improve the quality of their lives! Chris is the author of two books In Search of Higher Ground and Handshake. Chris is the founder of Celera Church Strategy Group an organization with an unwavering commitment to excellence in all things, with the goal to “raise the national average of church attendance,” by equipping church leaders with resources and coaching. Chris brings high-energy focus and a passion for vision and leadership to encourage and equip the local Church. Chris is a native Californian, born in Long Beach and currently resides in Corona with his wife, Laura and their two children, Grace and Aidan.

Posted on March 22, 2010, in choices, church growth, Habits, Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This was quite an awaking Pastor. What Mark Batterson wrote is an eye opener. It can be applied, not just to pastors, but also to the individual Christians.
    I find that there has been times, more than I can count, I have “tried” to take credit for what God does. I find I say to myself, “Yup I brought them to church” or ” I know what I did meant a lot to them.” I have tried to hog the glory that is only God’s.
    It is good to have these “awakenings” to help keep me on track.
    Thank you again.
    Stan

Leave a Reply

