How well am I leading the church? – Part 1

The"size" of the leader is more important than the size of the project

The"size" of the leader is more important than the size of the project

It has been said, “It’s not the size of the project that determines its acceptance, support and success. It’s the size of the Leader.” My question to you is how are you doing as a leader of your church?  Are you contributing to excitement, outreach  and growth, or are you stuck and contributing to stagnancy and decline? I encourage you to take the following quiz to help you have a clear vision of how you are performing as a leader.

Use the rating system 1  2  3  4  5

KEY:
1 – Haven’t done it
2 – Just in the early stages
3 – Solidly in progress
4 – Nearly accomplished
5 – Fully accomplished

Please read the statement below and circle the number that best describes you:
I have communicated in such a way that our key leaders understand our purpose and process.
1        2        3        4        5

I have taken the steps necessary so that our church understands the purpose and process.
1        2        3        4        5

I have led the church to a place where our purpose and process is working.
1        2        3        4        5

I have put together the right team that will lead us to success.
1        2        3        4        5

I actively add value to my team by resourcing them for personal growth.
1        2        3        4        5

I have developed a team that “fits”.
1        2        3        4        5

I have helped each player on the team reach their potential.
1        2        3        4        5

I know the level of all my players on the team.
1        2        3        4        5

I model personal growth through reading leadership books, attending conferences, speaking to other great leaders and doing what is necessary to grow.

1        2        3        4        5

I am living with integrity before my team.

1        2        3        4        5

I have developed a deep bench of leaders.

1        2        3        4        5

I have helped to build a winning tradition at our church.

1        2        3        4        5

I have displayed a willingness to change.

1        2        3        4        5

I have developed clear expectations for each leader.
1        2        3        4        5

I have learned to give away authority.
1        2        3        4        5

I do only the tasks that cannot be delegated.
1        2        3        4        5

I have encouraged my team in such a way that they would say they are better leaders because I am in their life.
1        2        3        4        5

I have discovered and implemented ways to continually keep the purpose and process before they church.
1        2        3        4        5

I model living a balanced life to my team.
1        2        3        4        5

I have shown that I am willing to make the tough decisions without dragging my feet.
1        2        3        4        5

Please add the total from all statements:  Total __________________________

The above quiz covers many areas of leadership, and it reveals these areas about ourselves…

1. Commitment to personal growth        2. Commitment to add value to others

5. Consuming passion to build a
thriving church

3.  Character that builds influence            4.  Clarity of heart and mission

Notice that “consuming passion to build a thriving church” is in the middle of the other categories. Do you have a consuming passion for your church?  Do you want to see your church growing through evangelism and community outreach?  Do you want to see those who are in your church drawing closer to God and growing stronger in their faith?  If you do not yet have a burning desire to have a thriving church, discovering that passion is the first place to start.  If you do have that passion, fantastic! Out of that passion will stem a desire to work on these other elements…personal growth, adding value to others, character, and clarity. I will take a closer look at some of these areas next time.

Until next time,

Chris Sonksen

QUOTE OF THE DAY:

“A great leader’s courage to fulfill his vision comes from passion, not position.”

John Maxwell

About Chris Sonksen

Chris Sonksen is the founder and Lead Pastor of South Hills Church and has an exceptional ability to inspire both secular and non-secular audiences. Under his leadership, South Hills has experienced phenomenal growth and in just a few short years has grown from a handful of people to nearly 3000 in attendance today. Today South Hills has become a thriving, multi-service and multi-site church. Chris has a magnetic, captivating and humorous style for motivating and inspiring all audiences. As a motivational speaker, he has spoken both nationally and internationally in companies such as Verizon, Securitas and Home Depot, and there is no doubt that by applying his teachings, his audience will improve the quality of their lives! Chris is the author of two books In Search of Higher Ground and Handshake. Chris is the founder of Celera Church Strategy Group an organization with an unwavering commitment to excellence in all things, with the goal to “raise the national average of church attendance,” by equipping church leaders with resources and coaching. Chris brings high-energy focus and a passion for vision and leadership to encourage and equip the local Church. Chris is a native Californian, born in Long Beach and currently resides in Corona with his wife, Laura and their two children, Grace and Aidan.

Posted on October 19, 2009, in church growth, Developing Healthy Churches, Habits, Leadership, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

