“Whatever you seek, you find”

Whatever you seek, you find

Whatever you seek, you find

Recently I was in the park with my kids and we were looking at the clouds in the sky.  Each of us pointed out a different cloud and we shared with each other what we saw in the cloud.  In the same cloud I saw the shape of a dog, my daughter saw a tree and my son saw Spongebob.

I’m sure you have done this with your kids or perhaps when you were a child yourself.  A group of your family or friends look at a cloud and everyone sees something different.  The truth is that you can find in the cloud whatever you are looking for!  This principle works when gazing at clouds and it works in your personal and professional life as well.  Whatever you seek you will find!

If you’re looking for opportunity you will find it, but if you’re looking for a closed door you will find that as well.  If you’re focused on the good in your relationships you will find it, if you’re focused on the bad you will find that as well. If you see your work environment as negative you’ll find it, but if you see it as positive you will find that also.  In any situation, if you’re seeking to criticize, judge and find the worst you will, but if you’re hoping for the best, believing for the best and seeking the best you will always find it.  Whatever you seek you will find!

What you seek is your choice. Here are some ways to keep you focused on seeking the best for your life:

1)  Seek the best
In every situation, relationship and career look for the best.  Wake up every morning with the attitude that you are going to seek and find the absolute best in every circumstance.  Stop looking for the worst and start looking for the best…it is there for you, if you’re willing to seek it.

2)  Seek opportunity
Opportunity knocks on everyone’s door…but only those who listen and are willing to answer will win!  Opportunity for personal growth, financial growth and advancement in your organization is before you.  All you have to do is open your eyes and see that opportunity is everywhere.

3)  Seek to win
Most people are satisfied with “not” losing but they are not really trying to win.  (Read that sentence again)  They are satisfied with the status quo and are too afraid to take a risk.  They have what I call the “Chicken Little” syndrome.  They believe the ‘sky is falling.’  They have set their minds on the philosophy that they are not destined to win. Don’t be the Chicken Little.  Seek to win in life and you will find it!

Keep this statement fresh in your mind…”Whatever you seek you will find.”  It applies to every area of your life.  It is a mindset.  It is something you decide everyday that you wake up!.  If you’re looking for the worst, seeking to criticize and ready to find excuses you will never lack in finding them.  However, if you truly seek the best, open the doors of opportunity and be determined to win you will find that success will follow.  WHATEVER YOU SEEK YOU WILL FIND!

Until next time,

Chris Sonksen

QUOTE FOR THE DAY
“Think you can or think you can’t either way you’re right.”

Chris Sonksen is a celebrated Motivational Speaker and Published Author; the Lead Pastor at one of America’s fastest growing churches (South Hills Church in Corona California); and the founding member of Celera Church Strategy Group. Celera offers pastor support, teaching, training and mentoring programs that equip pastors who want to learn how to grow church attendance through evangelism using proven church growth techniques.

About Chris Sonksen

Chris Sonksen is the founder and Lead Pastor of South Hills Church and has an exceptional ability to inspire both secular and non-secular audiences. Under his leadership, South Hills has experienced phenomenal growth and in just a few short years has grown from a handful of people to nearly 3000 in attendance today. Today South Hills has become a thriving, multi-service and multi-site church. Chris has a magnetic, captivating and humorous style for motivating and inspiring all audiences. As a motivational speaker, he has spoken both nationally and internationally in companies such as Verizon, Securitas and Home Depot, and there is no doubt that by applying his teachings, his audience will improve the quality of their lives! Chris is the author of two books In Search of Higher Ground and Handshake. Chris is the founder of Celera Church Strategy Group an organization with an unwavering commitment to excellence in all things, with the goal to “raise the national average of church attendance,” by equipping church leaders with resources and coaching. Chris brings high-energy focus and a passion for vision and leadership to encourage and equip the local Church. Chris is a native Californian, born in Long Beach and currently resides in Corona with his wife, Laura and their two children, Grace and Aidan.

Posted on May 26, 2009, in Leadership, Personal Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tina Coulter

    Great Blog! You are so right when you say, “Whatever you seek, you find!” No one should go around with “Chicken Little” syndrome! Nor should anyone be too afraid to take a Risk! Risk is growth in God and life it’s self without growth we have nothing! A little over 4 years ago I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis (MS) before I knew it I was letting the MS control my life, I didn’t show it on the outside so much as the inside. 2005 was a very difficult year I was diagnosed with MS, my mom lost a 3-year battle with lung cancer, and my grandfather passed as well. Since joining South Hills a little over 4 years ago, finding my way back to God and being active in several ministries, I still struggled. I have a wonderful husband, 2 great kids and great friends…yet something was missing. But this year I decided that I am going to seek and I AM FINDING! I have finally decided that God is control, not me, not my MS! I may have MS but MS no longer has me. While I may stumble along the way, I choose to dust myself off and continue down the path that God has chosen for me. I choose to take a Risk, God took one for me and I surely do not want to be one of those who says should a, could a, would a! WHATEVER I SEEK, I WILL FIND!

Leave a Reply

